Click to Home

Go To Search
Development Review Committee

The Development Review Committee (DRC) was established to review all land development applications within the city limits of Starkville. The committee consist of city staff and local utility companies and meets every Thursday at 9 am on the second floor of City Hall located at 110 West Main Street. To submit an application for DRC, contact the Planning Department.

The City of Starkville believes in transparent government and Development Review Committee meetings are open to the public. However, Development Review Committee meetings are not public hearings and there is no agenda item for public comment. Only City Staff members and applicants at the appropriate time may speak.

If you desire to speak about any issue The Starkville Board of Aldermen welcomes your comments during citizen comments at regularly schedule meetings of the Board of Aldermen.


  • Development Review (DRC) Application
  • Authorization Letter (needed if applicant is not property owner of record)
  • Minor site plan reviews, defined as less than 2,000 square feet of floor space and/or less than two acres in size. Application fee: $50.00. 
  • Major site plan reviews, defined as 2,000 square feet or more of floor space and/or two acres or greater in size. Application fee: $100.00.

Committee Members

Community Development/ Planning:
Daniel Havelin, City Planner

662-323-2525 ext 3136

Community Development/ Planning
Emily Corban, Assistant City Planner

662-323-2525 ext 3138

Community Development/ Development Services:
Joyner Williams, Building Official and ADA Coordinator

662-323-8012 ext 3132

Community Development/ Engineering Division:
Edward Kemp, PE, City Engineer

662-323-2525 ext 3111

Fire Department:
Stein McMullen, Fire Marshall

662-323-1212 ext 12

Mark McCurdy, Fire Marshall

662-323-1212 ext 21

Police Department:
Shawn Word   

Public Services Department:
Doug Devlin

662-323-3133 ext 136

Sanitation & Environmental Services Department:
Emma Gandy, Director


Starkville Electric Department:
Jason Horner, Systems Engineer

662-323-3133 ext 114

4-County Electric Power:
Greg Lewis


Tonya Thompson


Atmos Energy:
Rita Holley, Project Specialist


Charles Green